Articles Comments

Virginia Association of Teachers of English » Past Presidents

Past Presidents

Remembering Jan Suppa-Friedman

The Virginia Association of Teachers of English mourns the loss of former VATE president and NCTE liaison, Jan Suppa-Friedman, who died on November 26th.  Jan was a long time member of the executive board, serving in several positions in a span of over twenty years. Jan was a high school teacher and department chair in the Prince William school division for 24 years and a highly regarded educational consultant after retiring from the classroom.

She first came to the board as the representative of the NATE affiliate, which stretched from Winchester to Fredericksburg. In 2004, while serving as president-elect, Jan put together a coalition of English/language arts supervisors from NATE and enlisted their aid in orchestrating one of the most successful conferences in VATE history, featuring such renowned authors as Orson Scott Card and Sharon Draper.

After concluding her commitment to the presidential track, Jan served as NCTE liaison, and during her tenure in that position, VATE won the first of eight “NCTE Affiliate of Excellence” awards, largely due to Jan’s efforts. In fact, VATE garnered the coveted award five times on Jan’s watch, a record that may never be equaled. As VATE’s NCTE liaison, Jan instituted several new initiatives and coordinated VATE’s participation in NCTE’s Literacy Education Advocacy Day.

VATE will honor Jan’s legacy of service at the 2017 annual conference, which fittingly will be held at the Fredericksburg Hospitality House, the same hotel which was the setting for the conference she spearheaded in 2004. In the meantime, VATE expresses its condolences to Jan’s family, especially to her husband, Mike, and daughter, Julie.


Jan Suppa-Friedman (left) with former Virginia Congressman Tom Periello and then VATE president Sarah Tanner-Anderson at 2009 NCTE Literacy Education Advocacy Day

Past Presidents of VATE

2016 – Tori Otstot
2015 – Sarah Crain
2013 – 2014 Kirk Dolson
2011-12 Sarah Tanner-Anderson
2010 Adria Merritt
2008-09 Chris Woods, Roanoke Valley Juvenile Detention Center
2007 Carolyn Perry–Loudoun County Public Schools
2006 C. Hood Frazier–Longwood University
2004-06 Janice Suppa-Friedman–Prince William County, retired
2003 Nancy Moskway-Vadersen–Ocean Lakes High School
2002 Karen Hayden
2001 Roark Mulligan–Christopher Newport University
2000 Susanna Champe–Salem High School, Virginia Beach
1999 Linda Mayfield–Norview High School
1998 Jim Cope–Longwood College
1997 Pat Seward–Newport News Public Schools
1996 Fran Sharer–Green Run High School
1995 Joyce Graham–Radford University
1994 Chuck Miller–J.T. Henley Middle School
1993 Kathy Atkins–Shawsville High School
1992 Sue Kulesher–Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology
1991 Joyce Swindell–Norfolk Public Schools
1990 Lorna Roberson–Virginia Beach City Schools
1989 Millie Davis–George Wythe High School
1988 Stephanie McConachie–Williamsburg James City County Schools
1987 Chris Hopkins–Princess Anne High School
1986 Joan Lawson–Thomas Jefferson High School of Science and Technology
1985 Jackie Bryant–Virginia State Department of Education
1984 Judy Self–Virginia State Department of Education
1983 Ann Kuhta–Fairfax County Schools
1982 Betty Swiggett–Hampton City Schools
1981 Patricia Kelly–Virginia Tech
1980 H. Thomas Callahan–Deep Creek High School
1979 William Horst–Moody Middle School
1978 Mary Barnes–Virginia Beach Schools
1977 William S. Gray–Midlothian High School
1976 William C. Bosher–Highland Springs High School
1975 Leon Williams–Roanoke County Schools
1974 Elizabeth Smith–Tabb High School
1973 Alan McLeod–Virginia Commonwealth University
1972 Harold F. Paris–Albemarle High School
1971 Betty Blaisdell–Fairfax County Schools
1970 Paul Slayton–Mary Washington College
1969 Mary Lovern–State Department of Education
1968 Howard Holloman–Norfolk Public Schools
1967 Jean F. Furguson–Roanoke City Schools
1966 Jun Shurtliff, Washinton-Lee High School
1965 Frances Wimer–George Wythe High School
1964 Katharine Sieg–Harrisonburg High School
1963 Louise C. Moore–Waynesboro High School
1961-62 Ruby Lee Norris–George Wythe High School
1959-60 Mrs. Charles Councell–Washington-Lee High School
1957-58 R. C. Simonini, Jr.–Longwood College
1955-56 George F. Bagby–George Washington High School
1954 Gertrude Lewis–Culpeper High School



Every attempt is made to keep information on this website current.  Please contact the webmaster if you find outdated or incomplete information, or to report a dead link.

Comments are closed.